Warner paves the way for redemption


Australia opener David Warner is determined to repay the faith of selectors and team-mates when the Ashes get under way next week.

The quest for redemption is high on batsman David Warner's list of priorities, after the naming of Australia's squad for the first Ashes Test on Tuesday.

Warner, who earlier this year served a lengthy ban for trying to punch England player Joe Root during the Champions Trophy, has been retained in the 12-man party.

Fast bowler Mitchell Johnson, meanwhile, has been recalled – and uncapped batsman George Bailey included. All-rounder Shane Watson, too, has secured a berth – despite a hamstring injury.

"I've never been a person to ever doubt myself and playing cricket, and playing my way. To come back now and actually score a lot of runs and help New South Wales win games, it's been fantastic," said Warner, who welcomed three List A centuries and one first-class ton in October and November.

"I hope I can continue that into the Ashes, There were a few misdemeanours in the past six to 12 months. I've addressed them now, and I'm better for it. I will take it from here.

"I let the team down in the Champions Trophy, and not getting selected in the first two Tests was massive for us. It put a dampener on the team and on the squad itself.

"So I've got the respect back from the guys. But I've got to keep working hard to maintain that respect from the boys – and I hope I can keep doing my job at the top of the order."

Coach Darren Lehmann is adamant Australia, who were beaten three-nil in the Ashes series across the United Kingdom earlier this year, will be a considerably stronger unit in home conditions.

"We're at home, different conditions – there's a different skill set, I suppose. But at the end of the day, we've got to perform better than we did in England," added Lehmann.

"We know that as a team. So we've got to get the basics right, win the key moments – which we didn't do in England. I think we're on the right path, and I'm really happy with where we're at."

The first Test will get underway in Brisbane on 21 November. Adelaide, Perth, Sydney and Melbourne will host matches two, three, four and five respectively.