West Indies name powerful WT20 squad


The West Indies have named a strong 15-man squad for the World Twenty20 in March, including many of the stars from the Big Bash League, like Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, and Andre Russell.

Darren Sammy was appointed the captain, having led them to the title in 2012, while spinner Sunil Narine was included despite being suspended from internationals due to an illegal action.

Both Bravo brothers, Darren and Dwayne, were named, as was Lendl Simmons and Samuel Badree. Sulieman Benn was also named for the decks in India, despite not playing for the Windies in nearly a year.

The Windies may be in turmoil off the field, and have a dire Test record, but their T20 side is ranked number one, and will expect to replicate or better the semi-final berth they reached in 2014.

WEST INDIES: Darren Sammy (captain), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor.