West Indies without both Brathwaites

Kraigg Brathwaite

The West Indies have dropped opening batsman Kraigg Brathwaite for this month’s ODI series against Pakistan.

Brathwaite managed a mere 61 runs in three innings during the limited-overs series against England earlier this year – and batted at a relatively pedestrian strike rate.

All-rounder Carlos Brathwaite, who will be playing for the Delhi Daredevils in the 10th edition of the Indian Premier League, has also not been included in the 13-man party.

Fast bowler Shannon Gabriel has recovered from a side strain and wicketkeeper-batsman Chadwick Walton, too, has been selected.

The Windies and Pakistanis will meet for threee ODIs at Province. Three Tests will follow.

West Indies ODI squad: Jason Holder (captain), Devendra Bishoo, Jonathan Carter, Miguel Cummins, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell, Chadwick Walton.