WICB release star Test players for CPL


The West Indies Cricket Board have allowed five players in their Test squad to play in the first 12 days of the Caribbean Premier League next month, ahead of the Test series against India.

The Tests and the CPL clash, and originally the WICB had kept the players away from the T20 event, but all-rounder Jason Holder, batsman Darren Bravo, all-rounder Carlos Brathwaite, legspinner Devendra Bishoo, and wicketkeeper-batsman Denesh Ramdin have been released.

They will be allowed to take part in the CPL until 11 July, which gives them 10 days to be with the Test squad ahead of the first game in Antigua. Head coach Phil Simmons apparently approved of the idea, according to Cricinfo.

Damien O'Donohoe, the CPL chief executive, said: "Our thanks to the West Indies Cricket Board, coach and chairman of selection committee for facilitating the release of the players for the opening weeks of the CPL.

"It's a tremendous boost for the competition and I have no doubt that each of the players will be motivated to add great value to their squads."