Windies name Test squad, confirm Shiv axing


The West Indies have announced a 14-man squad for the first Test against Australia in Dominica starting on Wednesday that confirms the axing of veteran batsman Shiv Chanderpaul.

It was widely reported in the media the last few weeks that the 40 year-old Chanderpaul will not be selected, and now that it has been confirmed it seems as if his international career is over.

The sacking of the Guyana player has stirred up debate among fans and former players, with Brain Lara saying it was disrespectful as Chanderpaul had to go out on his own terms.

However, former Windies paceman Michael Holding has backed the decision to drop the 164-Test capped left-hander after he only averaged 11 in his last 16 Test innings. Chanderpaul is only 86 runs short of Lara's record as the West Indies all-time leading run-scorer in Test cricket.

Meanwhile the uncapped pair of Shane Dowrich and Rajindra Chandrika have been called up into the squad, while along with Chanderpaul, Devon Smith and Carlos Brathwaite have made way from the side that drew one-all with England in April.

West Indies squad for the first Test: Denesh Ramdin (capt), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Kraigg Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajindra Chandrika, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Veerasammy Permaul, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor