Windies tour to India schedule revealed


The Board of Control for Cricket in India have announced the full list of international fixtures for the West Indies’ tour of India.

The international clashes start with a Test in Rajkot on 4 October.

The tour is made up of two Tests, five ODIs and three T20Is and runs until 11 November.

The Test in Rajkot will be followed by one in Hyderabad from 12 October. A four-day break then leads into the limited-overs matches.

ALSO READ: Pakistan Veterans canned as Ehsan Mani focuses on youth

India and the Windies will play two Tests

Both teams agreed to have the tour centred around the ODI series with the focus on preparing for the World Cup in England next year.

The hosts are ranked No.2 on the ODI rankings while the men from the Caribbean, having missed out on direct qualification for the World Cup, sealed their place in the qualifying tournament in Zimbabwe earlier this year and are at No.9.

The tour closes with three T20Is, in Kolkata, Lucknow and Chennai. It will mark the first time the Windies are returning to India since their triumphant ICC World T20 2016 title win at Eden Gardens.

The semi-final of that tournament was the first – and so far only – time the two teams have met in the 20-over format in India, although several West Indian players have experience of playing in the Indian Premier League.

Fixtures and schedule

1st Test: 4-8 October, Rajkot
2nd Test: 12-16 October, Hyderabad

1st ODI: 21 October, Guwahati
2nd ODI: 24 October, Indore
3rd ODI: 27 October, Pune
4th ODI: 29 October, Mumbai
5th ODI: 1 November, Thiruvananthapuram

1st T20I: 4 November, Kolkata
2nd T20I: 6 November, Lucknow
3rd T20I: 11 November, Chennai