World Cup team profile: India

2015 World Cup

World Cup history

India's 1975 campaign started in controversial fashion when, in the opening game of the tournament, Sunil Gavaskar inexplicably decided to bat out the overs instead of chasing England's total of 334/4, finishing on 132/3 in their 60 overs. Despite a victory over minnows East Africa later in the event, the Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan-led side returned home.

The 1979 campaign was another disappointing one as India left England winless, after losing to minnows Sri Lanka in their final match of the campaign.

By 1983, though, India had come to grips with the format, and not only shocked two-time winners West Indies in their first game, but also beat the Clive Lloyd's side in the final to properly announce themselves on the world stage.

A semi-final defeat to England followed in '87, but India failed to reach the knock-outs in '92, after the format was changed to Round Robin in order to incorporate newly admitted South Africa.

On home soil in 1996, India reached the semis once more, but lost to eventual winners Sri Lanka in their last four match. The semi-final at Eden Gardens was called off during the Indian innings and the match awarded to Sri Lanka after violence broke out in the crowd with India on 120/8 in pursuit of 251/8.

The '99 event was another disappointing one for India – despite boasting an all-star team, they were unable to advance to the knock-outs after defeats to Australia and New Zealand in the Super Six stage.

In South Africa in 2003, India reached the final but was toppled by defending champions Australia in Johannesburg following a remarkable display of stroke play by Ricky Ponting. Sachin Tendulkar, though, was named Player of the Tournament after scoring 673 runs in the event.

The 2007 event was a disastrous one for India. They lost to Bangladesh and Sri Lanka in the first phase of the event and were sent packing after the initial group stage.

As one of the hosts in 2011, India were expected to perform well and perform well they did. Despite a loss to South Africa early in the event, India's long batting line-up and bowling depth proved too much for their opposition throughout the tournament and MS Dhoni's side were crowned World Champions for a second time.

Best finish: Winners, 1983, 2011

Squad: MS Dhoni (captain), Ravichandran Ashwin, Stuart Binny, Shikhar Dhawan, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Axar Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ishant Sharma, Rohit Sharma, Umesh Yadav    

Key Batsman: Virat Kholi

Regarded by many as the best limited overs player in the game today, the right-hander is a master of setting the tempo of the Indian innings with his dashing stroke play, particularly when chasing big scores.

Key Bowler: Ishant Sharma

Tall and lanky, the fast bowler has a decent record playing on the bouncy tracks of Australia and is the main threat in the Indian attack with the new ball, particularly if he keeps his pace up.

Drinks carrier: Ambati Rayudu

Unless captain MS Dhoni decides to play himself as a specialist batsman, reserve keeper Rayadu is unlikely to feature in any matches other than dead rubbers.

Kit colour: Blue

Injury concerns:



February 15: 4th Match, Pool B – India v Pakistan

February 22: 13th Match, Pool B – India v South Africa

February 28: 21st Match, Pool B – India v United Arab Emirates

March 6: 28th Match, Pool B – India v West Indies

March 10: 34th Match, Pool B – India v Ireland

March 14: 39th Match, Pool B – India v Zimbabwe