Cricket World Cup Super League: Sri Lanka name squad for Zimbabwe series

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka have announced their 17-man squad for the upcoming Cricket World Cup Super League ODI series against Zimbabwe.

The group sees eight changes from the last ODI squad assembled by Sri Lanka when they faced South Africa in 2021.

Big names Kusal Perera, Wanindu Hasaranga, Avishka Fernando, Dhananjaya de Silva have all been left out of the squad, due to injury, illness or family commitments.

Lahiru Kumara was named in the squad but failed Sri Lanka’s revised fitness tests.

Fast bowler Binura Fernando and spinner Akila Dananjaya also miss out but no reason was given for their absence.

Bhanuka Rajapaksa made himself unavailable due to his short-lived international retirement.

Batter Kusal Mendis and spinner Jeffrey Vandersay earn recalls to the Sri Lanka squad to face Zimbabwe.

Mendis makes a return to the national side with his one-year ban lifted by Sri Lanka Cricket earlier this month.

He saw his one-year ban for breaking COVID-19 protocols during the team’s tour of England last year in July commuted to a six-month absence.

South Africa to co-host 2027 World Cup alongside Namibia and Zimbabwe

The group also features three uncapped players in Nuwan Thushara, Shiran Fernando and Chamika Gunasekara.

Ashen Bandara, Pulina Tharanga, Nimesh Vimukthi, Ashian Daniel, Asitha Fernando and Vishwa Fernando have been named as standby players.

Sri Lanka were forced to drastically alter their plans for the series with three intended uncapped call-ups scuppered, two by COVID-19 and another failing a fitness test.

Kalana Perera, Kamil Mishara and Janith Liyanage were the men to miss out.

Those issues have seen Dinesh Chandimal, Nuwan Pradeep and Kamindu Mendis afforded recalls after initially not being in the plans.

Sri Lanka face Zimbabwe in three ODIs which will all be played at the Pallekelle Stadium in Kandy.

Sri Lanka squad to face Zimbabwe in the Cricket World Cup Super League

Sri Lanka squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Pathum Nissanka, Minod Bhanuka, Charith Asalanka, Maheesh Theekshana, Chamika Karunaratne, Jeffrey Vandersay, Nuwan Thushara, Ramesh Mendis, Praveen Jayawickrama, Dushmantha Chameera, Chamika Dinsali, Nasak, Naswana Dinali, Naswana Khana, Praswana.

Standby players: Ashen Bandara, Pulina Tharanga, Nimesh Vimukthi, Ashian Daniel, Asitha Fernando, Vishwa Fernando