Moeen and Stokes rested for T20I

ODI cricket

England have named their squads for the upcoming T20I and the ODI series against the West Indies.

Allrounders Moeen Ali and Ben Stokes will be rested for the one-off T20I at Chester-Le-Street on Saturday 16 September.

Opener Alex Hales and paceman Jake Ball come into the squad fresh off the back of a triumphant Natwest T20 Blast campaign with the Notts Outlaws.

There is no space in the squad for young leg-spinner Mason Crane who made his T20I debut against South Africa earlier this season.

Hampshire left-armer Liam Dawson and Yorkshire leggie Adil Rashid will provide England with their slow bowling options for the T20I.

ALSO READ: ‘Hurt’ Patel hoping for England recall

Moeen’s return for the ODI series has kept Dawson out of the fifty over squad.

Chris Jordan takes up the seam bowling allrounder position in the T20I while Chris Woakes will take up a similar postion in the ODI group.

David Willey, Tom Curran, Liam Plunkett and Ball are England’s seam options in both formats.

Dawid Malan has retained his place in the T20I squad but with Stokes coming back for the ODIs the Middlesex man will have to wait for an ODI call.

Durham seamer Mark Wood misses out on the group despite doing well earlier this season against South Africa.

England T20I Squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran , Liam Dawson, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, David Willey.

England ODI squad: Eoin Morgan (c), Moeen Ali, Jonny Bairstow, Jake Ball, Jos Buttler (wk), Tom Curran, Alex Hales, Liam Plunkett, Adil Rashid, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Ben Stokes, David Willey, Chris Woakes.