Pitch Report: 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup – County Ground, Taunton

Pitch Report
Taunton generic general view 2017 PA

Taunton: Overview

Established: 1882
Capacity: 6500
Floodlights: Yes
Ends: Old Pavilion End, River End
Home Teams: Somerset, England

2019 Cricket World Cup fixtures:
June 8, 1330 BST/1800 IST: Afghanistan v New Zealand (d/n)
June 12, 1030 BST/1500 IST: Australia v Pakistan
June 17, 1030 BST/1500 IST: West Indies v Bangladesh

Taunton will double its total number of ODIs in June 2019 with three World Cup games adding to those played here during the 1983 and 1999 tournaments.

None of the teams involved this time around have played here before, but in the few games it has hosted there were plenty of runs. England racked up 333/9 here in 1983, albeit against a weak Sri Lanka side and in 60 overs.

More famously, Taunton was the scene of Sourav Ganguly (183) and Rahul Dravid’s (145) record-breaking partnership of 318 in what was at the time the second-highest ODI total ever – 373/6 – against Sri Lanka in May 1999.

Taunton: ODI statistics

Matches: 3
Won batting first: 2 (67%)
Won batting second: 1 (33%)

Won toss: W2 L1
Won toss, batted: W1
Won toss, fielded: W1 L1

Highest total: India 373/6 (50/50 overs) v Sri Lanka, May 26 1999
Lowest total: Sri Lanka 216 (42.3/50 overs) v India, May 26 1999

300+ totals: 2

Runs per over: 5.53
Runs per wicket: 35.48

Taunton: ODI results

May 26 1999: India (373/6, 50/50 overs) bt Sri Lanka (216, 42.3/50 overs) by 157 runs
May 15 1999: Zimbabwe (231/5, 41/50 overs) bt Kenya (229/7, 50/50 overs) by five wickets
June 11 1983: England (333/9, 60/60 overs) bt Sri Lanka (286, 58/60 overs) by 47 runs

Taunton: Individual ODI stats

Centuries: 3
Five-wicket hauls: 2
Highest score: 183 (158), Sourav Ganguly (India) v Sri Lanka, May 26 1999
Best bowling: 9.3-0-31-5, Robin Singh (India) v Sri Lanka, May 26 1999

Latest