India A win quadrangular series


India A has claimed the Quadrangular ‘A’ Series in Mackay after defeating Australia A by 57 runs, with Mandeep Singh scoring 95 from 108 balls to see his side to victory.

Mandeep, who was named ‘Player of the Match’, combined with captain Manish Pandey (61) to set India A up to reach an ultimately defendable total of 4-266.

Shreyas Iyer was also vital with 41 runs, with Australia having four wicket-takers with one scalp each.

In reply, Cameron Bancroft (34) and Nic Maddinson started well, but it was Yuzvendra Chahal (4-34) who was the ultimate winner from the innings, taking key scalps and bringing the game India A’s way.

Australia A skipper Pete Handscomb (43) combined with Alex Ross (34) to edge closer to the total, but the back end of the game was all for the tourists, claiming the last five wickets for just 26 runs.

India A have now claimed the last three ‘A’ series, defeating Australia A on each occasion.