ODI series preview: Sri Lanka v Australia

The last time Sri Lanka and Australia contested an ODI series in the Asian nation, in 2011, the Aussies won the six-match series three-two, with one no result, and since then it's been just as close a contest.

In the past five years, the sides have clashed 14 times, mostly in Australia, and the Sri Lankans are ahead seven games to six, with one no result again messing up the records.

This time, Sri Lanka are riding high after a comprehensive Test series whitewash, winning three nil despite going into the series as the overwhelming underdogs. It won't be plain sailing in the ODIs though.

The Aussie one-day side is an experienced one, with Aaron Finch, James Faulkner, George Bailey, and Travis Head all joining the batting line up, and all have extensive experience on turning tracks thanks to the IPL.

Their spin woes during the Test series will likely persist, but they will hope for a few more batting mistakes from the hosts, especially with Mitchell Starc taking the new white ball. He was by far their best bowler in the Tests, and will look to continue that in coloured gear.

Head was called into the squad a few weeks ago and has been training behind the scenes during the Tests. All-rounder Mitchell Marsh has been sent home to rest though, despite being part of the original ODI squad.

The Aussies are without all-rounder Glenn Maxwell, who was deemed too inconsistent to keep his place, despite his ability to change the game on his own. So the spin duties will be left to Adam Zampa, and Nathan Lyon if picked for a rare ODI stint.

Sri Lanka will look to Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, and Angelo Mathews, while pacemen Nuwan Pradeep and Suranga Lakmal will pose a threat with the new ball. But they may go for three spinners, with leggie Lakshan Sandakan impressive in the Tests, looking to mentally mess with the Aussies.

Two very different sides will contest this series, and it's tough to see one side being completely dominant. If David Warner and Aaron Finch fire though, there could be some very high scores set or chased down.

Last Five Head-To-Head Results

2015 World Cup: Australia won by 64 runs in Sydney
2013 Champions Trophy: Sri Lanka won by 20 runs at The Oval
2013 Fifth ODI: Australia won by 32 runs in Hobart
2013 Fourth ODI: No result in Sydney
2013 Third ODI: Sri Lanka won by four wickets in Brisbane


Australia: Steven Smith (capt), David Warner, George Bailey, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Moises Henriques, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc, Matthew Wade, Adam Zampa

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Danushka Gunathilaka, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Milinda Siriwardana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Thisara Perera, Dilruwan Perera, Lakshan Sandakan, Avishka Fernando, Amila Aponso


First ODI: 21 August in Colombo
Second ODI: 24 August in Colombo
Third ODI: 28 August in Dambulla
Fourth ODI: 31 August in Dambulla
Fifth ODI: 4 September in Pallekele