ODI series preview: Zimbabwe vs India


Zimbabwe will play host to India in a three-match ODI series at the Harare Sports Club with the home side standing good chance of causing a massive upset.

India have decided to rest many of their first-choice players, including captain MS Dhoni and kingpin batsman Virat Kohli.

Ajinkya Rahane will get a chance enhance his ODI credentials when he leads a side that has picked players that have performed on the domestic scene in recent years.

Some of the older hands like spinner Harbhajan Singh, batsman Robin Uthappa and opener Murali Vijay will also use the tour to remind the selectors of what they can do.

Zimbabwe come off a fairly successful tour of Pakistan, even they lost the series. Their batting came good while their bowling improved markedly from their World Cup campaign.

Key men

For the home team, captain Elton Chigumbura has improved his batting dramatically over last few years. Zimbabwe will need him to score runs, and bat long.

In amongst all the younger players, Harbhajan Singh could still cause the most for the visitors. He still performs regularly in the IPL could spin a web around the African team.

Last Five Head-To-Head Results

2015 World Cup: India won 6 wickets in Auckland     
2013 Fifth ODI: India won 58 runs in Harare         
2013 Fourth ODI: India won 7 wickets in    Harare     
2013 Third ODI:    India won 9 wickets in    Bulawayo          
2013 Second ODI: India won 7 wickets in    Bulawayo         


Zimbabwe squad for first ODI: Elton Chigumbura (Captain), Sikandar Raza Butt, Regis Chakabva, Chamunorwa Chibhabha, Graeme Cremer, Neville Madziva, Hamilton Masakadza, Richmond Mutumbami, Tinashe Panyangara, Vusimuzi Sibanda, Donald Tiripano, Prosper Utseya, Brian Vitori, Malcolm Waller and Sean Williams

India squad: Ajinkya Rahane (C), Murali Vijay, Ambhati Rayudu, Manoj Tiwary, Kedar Jadhav, Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey, Harbhajan Singh, Axar Patel, Dhawal Kulkarni, Stuart Binny, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohit Sharma, Sandeep Singh


First ODI: 10 July in Harare

Second ODI: 12 July Harare

Third ODI: 14 July Harare