SA, Aussies endure Port Elizabeth washout


Rain delayed the start of Sunday's first Twenty20 International between South Africa and Australia at St George's Park in Port Elizabeth.

Rain resigned Sunday's first Twenty20 International between South Africa and Australia to a complete washout at St George's Park in Port Elizabeth.

The series opener was scheduled to start at 14:30 local time (12:30 GMT). Consistent showers across the Eastern Cape region, however, saw umpires Johan Cloete and Adrian Holdstock eventually declare a no-result at 15:47 local time (13:47 GMT).

Both teams are eager for valuable match practice ahead of the World Twenty20, which will get underway in Bangladesh next week. The Proteas have recalled Albie Morkel and handed a maiden call-up to left-arm seamer Beuran Hendricks.

The Aussies, meanwhile, named the 43-year-old Brad Hogg and 39-year-old Brad Hodge – and young leg-spinner James Muirhead – in a strong 15-man squad led by the in-form George Bailey. The second Twenty20 International will get underway at Kingsmead in Durban on Wednesday, while Centurion will host the third and final match on Friday.

The South Africans have been grouped with England, New Zealand, Sri Lanka and a qualifying team at the World Twenty20, while the Australians have been pooled with India, Pakistan, West Indies and a qualifying nation.

<b>South Africa squad:</b> Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quniton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Beuran Hendricks, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Aaron Phangiso, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

<b>Australia squad:</b> George Bailey (captain), Dan Christian, Nathan Coulter-Nile, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brad Haddin, Moises Henriques, Brad Hodge, Brad Hogg, Glenn Maxwell, James Muirhead, Mitchell Starc, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.