Second Test preview: Australia v New Zealand


The first Test of the series did not go to plan for New Zealand, and surprised many watchers with how easily the Australians won, and the Black Caps have it all to do to avoid a similar fate in Perth.

Australia won the first Test by 208 runs on day five, with their batsmen completely dominating and David Warner recording twin tons. New Zealand's bowlers were ineffective, while Australia's were on fire.

The Kiwis' lack of efficacy with the ball will be even more hampered if Tim Southee is not fit for the WACA. He was unable to bowl for much of the first innings and all of the second at the 'Gabba after picking up a back injury.

If he is not declared fit, Neil Wagner is set to play and he hasn't features for the Kiwis in nearly a year. Added to this, all-rounder Jimmy Neesham has been sent home with an injury too, meaning Mitchell McClenaghan could make his Test debut.

On a deck that is expected to be good for pace, this is not good news for the visitors, who struggled with the ball in Brisbane, on a deck that was supposed to be helpful. Well, it was for the Aussies, who have named an unchanged side.

This means Peter Siddle is again relegated to carrying the drinks, despite his good record at this ground. Skipper Steve Smith has urged his pacemen to be more accurate with the new ball, and if they are then the Kiwis are in trouble.

Fans from both sides expected this series to be a close contest, but Brisbane was not that, and the Kiwis need to draw level here to keep their hopes of a first series win Down Under in 30 years alive.

Key players

Australia will look to paceman Mitchell Johnson here, on his home ground, as he has by far the best record here, second only to Glenn McGrath in terms of wickets, and his batting here is also decent.

As was the case in the first Test, all eyes will be on batsman Kane Williamson. He scored a ton in vain at the Gabba, and was by far the best visiting batsman, and the Aussies have said they consider him the most valuable wicket to get.

Last Five Head-To-Head Results

2015 First Test: Australia won by 208 runs in Brisbane
2011 Second Test: New Zealand won by seven runs in Hobart
2011 First Test: Australia won by nine wickets in Brisbane
2010 Second Test: Australia won by 176 runs in Hamilton
2010 First Test: Australia won by 10 wickets in Wellington


Australia: Joe Burns, David Warner, Usman Khawaja, Steven Smith (capt), Adam Voges, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill (wk), Mitchell Johnson, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood,  Nathan Lyon

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum (capt), BJ Watling (wk), Mark Craig, Doug Bracewell, Neil Wagner/Mitchell McClenaghan, Trent Boult, Tim Southee (injury dependant)


Dates: 13 – 17 November
Morning session: 10:30-12:30 (02:30-04:30 GMT)
Afternoon session: 13:10-15:10 (05:10-07:10 GMT)
Evening session: 15:30-17:30 (07:30-09:30 GMT)

On-field umpires: Nigel Llong and S Ravi
Third umpire: Richard Illingworth
Match referee: Roshan Mahanama