Sharjah stalemate gives Pakistan series win


The third and final Test between Pakistan and Sri Lanka in Sharjah ended in a draw on Monday.

Pakistan enjoyed a one-nil series win after the third and final Test in Sharjah ended in a stalemate.

The Sri Lankans needed a victory to square the three-match series after losing the second Test in Dubai inside four days, but rain and Pakistan's defiance ended their quest for belated triumph.

A three-hour delay due to inclement weather eventually left Sri Lanka to declare at 164 for five – a lead of 254. Pakistan were never going to chase that target, instead batting out the draw.

They lost four wickets in the process, but there was no genuine cause for alarm in the home camp as Misbah-ul-Haq and Asad Shafiq brought on the draw.

Skipper Misbah dragged his way to a characteristically dogged nine not out from 86 balls, while sidekick Shafiq also forsook entertainment en route to seven from 55 deliveries before the match was called off under dying light.

Earlier Pakistan wobbled as they looked to preserve their series lead.

12th man Lahiru Thirimanne inspired the initial breakthrough, with his direct-hit running out Mohammad Hafeez. Rangana Herath then snared the wicket of Azhar Ali, after which Chanaka Welegedara bagged the key scalp of first-innings centurion Younis Khan.

Taufeeq Umar compiled a steady 39 but was stopped in his tracks by Suraj Randiv, who had the batsman hole out at backward point.

Randiv was confident he had another victim, but umpire Simon Taufel was not convinced of what seemed to be an edge to the wicketkeeper.

Misbah and Shafiq continued to stonewall the Sri Lanka attack in a partnership of 10 drab runs that spanned all of 95 laborious balls.

The teams begin a five-match ODI series in Dubai on Friday.