Sunrisers hold off charging Daredevils


Sunrisers Hyderabad moved up to fourth on the IPL table on Saturday after some smart bowling from Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ishant Sharma at the death ensured David Warner's men claimed a narrow six-run victory over the Delhi Daredevils in Raipur.

Earlier, Moises Henriques anchored a Sunrisers innings that looked to be a few runs short of what was required.

Henriques ended unbeaten on 74 runs off just 46 deliveries as he combined with several partners throughout the innings, most of whom reached double figures but could not convert it into anything more substantial.

Warner made 17, Shikhar Dhawan 13, Eoin Morgan 22, Karn Sharma 16 and Ravi Bopara an unbeaten 17 at the death as they joined Henriques in compiling a total of 163/4.

Opener Quintod de Kock gave the Daredevils the start they needed with a 31-ball 50, but he would fall to Karn Sharma just as he reached the milestone.

Sharma also dismissed captain JP Duminy for 12, while Yuvraj Singh could only manage two runs before falling to Parvez Rasool.

That left Delhi in a bit of a hole on 66/4 after 10.2 overs, but the fifth wicket partnership of Kedar Jadhav and Saurabh Tiwary appeared to have rescued the innings.

With Jadhav playing a leading role, the pair looked to be heading for victory until the final three overs – two from Kumar and one from Sharma – denied them a successful chase at the death.

Jadhav ended unbeaten on 63 off just 34 balls, and Tiwary not out on 26 off 25, but the Daredevils were still six runs short of the target as Sharma bowled the final delivery.