T20I series preview: West Indies v Pakistan


It has not been smooth sailing in 2017 for either the West Indies or Pakistan as the Sarfraz Ahmed led squad arrives in the Caribbean.

Pakistan are still reeling from the 2017 PSL match fixing scandal that could very well spell the end of the career of promising opener Sharjeel Khan.

The West Indies have had little to celebrate since their triumph at the World T20 in March 2016.

The T20 format offers both teams the chance to try to forget their poor form in the longer formats of the game and their respective rankings slides.

The West Indies faced with a batting crisis have recalled veteran batsman Marlon Samuels and will be hoping Jason Mohammed and Jonathan Carter can bring their fifty over form into the shortest format.

Chris Gayle remains unavailable to play for the national team and Dwayne Bravo suffered an injury during the big bash that has seen him put on ice for a while.

Pakistan have also had to look to a blast from the past but this was really a case of Kamran Akmal scoring so many runs that the team had to take notice.

Both squads sport decent bowling attacks but will be aware that they really need to improve in the field if they are to turn around their recent dips in form.

Key Men

Evin Lewis has a T20I hundred to his name and is the type of player who can dominate and take the game away from Pakistan.

The return of Sunil Narine will be a huge boost to the West Indies with his ability to peg the opposition back by taking wickets set to be critical for the hosts.

Babar Azam has been touted as the next big thing for Pakistan but he really needs to deliver in this series for the team to do well.

The experience of Wahab Riaz with ball in hand will be almost as critical as the way Sarfraz decides to use him.


West Indies T20I squad: Samuel Badree, Carlos Brathwaite (capt), Jonathan Carter, André Fletcher, Jason Holder, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Sunil Narine, Veerasammy Permaul, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor, Chadwick Walton, Keswick Williams

Pakistan T20I squad: Ahmed Shehzad, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Fakhar Zaman, Sarfraz Ahmed (capt & wk), Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Tanvir, Rumman Raees, Hasan Ali, Usman Khan.

Last five head-to-head-results

2016 Third T20I: Pakistan won by 8 wickets in Abu Dhabi
2016 Second T20I: Pakistan won by 16 runs in Dubai
2016 First T20I: Pakistan won by 9 wickets in Dubai
2014 World T20: West Indies won by 84 runs in Dhaka
2013 Second T20I: Pakistan won by 11 runs in Kingstown


Sunday March 26 1st T20I – West Indies v Pakistan Kensington Oval, Bridgetown, Barbados
Thursday March 30 2nd T20I – West Indies v Pakistan Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Saturday April 1 3rd T20I – West Indies v Pakistan Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad
Sunday April 2 4th T20I – West Indies v Pakistan Queen's Park Oval, Port of Spain, Trinidad