Test preview: Bangladesh vs India


India and Bangladesh will a play a Test match for the first time in more than five years when they meet in Fatullah on Wednesday.

As it is a one-off match, both teams will want to win the game and get the points to climb the world Test rankings.

It will be Virt Kohli's first match as the regular Test captain and he will want to start his reign on a good note and also look for his team to play some attacking, aggressive cricket.

Veteran spinner Harbhajan Singh could play his first Test in more than two years after he was recalled to the side, while Shikhar Dhawan should open the batting in place of KL Rahul, who is ill.

The Tigers lost their last Test series against Pakistan, last month, and will want to bounce back in front of their own fans.

The home team has to decide if captain Mushfiqur Rahim is fit enough to keep wicket in the match. If he is not then Litton Das will come in and make his debut.

The Tigers also have to decide about the balance of the bowling attack. They could go in with as many as three spinners or decide to play two seamers.

On a side note Tamim Iqbal is seven runs away from becoming Bangladesh's highest-ever run-scorer in Test cricket.

Key Men

For the Tigers, as always, the result could hinge on the performance of allrounder Shakib Al Hasan, with both bat and ball.

Virat Kohli has spoken about how he wants the India team to play an aggressive brand of cricket under his leadership. We will see the new era start in this match.

Last Five Head-To-Head Results

2010 Second Test: India won by 10 wickets
2010 First Test: India won by 113 runs
2007 Second Test: India won by and innings and 239 runs
2007 First Test: Match drawn
2004 Second Test: India won by an innings and 83 runs


Bangladesh Squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Shuvagata Hom, Taijul Islam, Mohammad Shahid, Rubel Hossain, Jubair Hossain, Litton Das, Abul Hasan.

India squad: Virat Kohli (capt), M Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Rohit Sharma, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Karn Sharma, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Varun Aaron, Ishant Sharma

Dates: 10-14 June
Morning session: 10:00-12:00 (0400-06:00 GMT)
Afternoon session: 12:40-14:40 (06:40-08:40 GMT)
Evening session: 15:00-17:00 (09:00-11:00 GMT)