Third Test preview: Australia v West Indies


Australia go into the thirds Test against the West Indies looking to record a series whitewash, while the visitors might just want to show they're more than the laughing stock they've become.

Leading the series 2-0 after easy wins in Hobart and Melbourne, the SCG clash is set to be more of the same, as the Windies' bowling attack has looked distinctly toothless in the series, taking just 10 wickets.

The Boxing Day Test saw the Aussies record more than 500 runs in the first innings, with four batsmen making tons, and while the SCG is more friendly to the spinners, the top order will be confident.

Adam Voges averages more than 500 against the Windies in four Tests, and he'll be eager to keep piling on the runs. The rest of the top five have profited handsomely too, aside from David Warner, who will be eager to cash in as well.

The hosts have made just the one change, replacing injured paceman Peter Siddle with spinner Steve O'Keefe. This means two slow bowlers will be in the line-up, a rare occurrence for the Aussies.

The Windies batsmen did show some fight at the MCG, with Darren Bravo, Carlos Brathwaite, Jason Holder, and Denesh Ramdin making half tons at various points, and they'll want to build on that for morale alone.

Key players

For the Aussies, Adam Voges is the premier batsman of the series. He's the only one with two tons, and has been not out in all of his innings. All two of them, to be fair. We expect a third ton.

The Windies will look to their skipper, Jason Holder, with the ball and the bat. His bowling, and everyone else's has been fairly poor, but his batting at the MCG showed his class. There's a lot of pressure on those young shoulders.

Last Five Head-To-Head Results

2015 Second Test: Australia won by 177 runs in Melbourne
2015 First Test: Australia won an innings and 212 runs in Hobart
2015 Second Test: Australia won by 277 runs in Kingston
2015 First Test: Australia won by nine wickets in Roseau
2012 Third Test: Australia won by 75 runs in Roseau


Australia: David Warner, Joe Burns, Steven Smith (capt), Adam Voges, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Mitchell Marsh, Peter Nevill (wk), Peter Siddle, James Pattinson, Scott Boland, Josh Hazlewood, Nathan Lyon, Steve O'Keefe

West Indies:  Jason Holder (capt), Kraigg Brathwaite, Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajindra Chandrika, Shane Dowrich, Shannon Gabriel, Shai Hope, Denesh Ramdin, Kemar Roach, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor, Jomel Warrican


Dates: 3 – 7 January
Morning session: 10:30-12:30 (23:30-01:30 GMT)
Afternoon session: 13:10-15:10 (02:10-04:10 GMT)
Evening session: 15:30-17:30 (04:30-06:30 GMT)

On-field umpires: Ian Gould and Chris Gaffaney
Third umpire: Marais Erasmus
Match referee: Chris Broad