Australia thrash South Africa to seal T20 series victory

David Warner Steve Smith Australia Sri Lanka T20 PA

Australia stormed to a 97-run win over South Africa to clinch the Twenty20 international series 2-1 as David Warner and Steve Smith enjoyed successful returns to Cape Town.

South Africa won the toss and decided to bowl but Australia’s batting strength proved too much, and the hosts slumped to 96 all out chasing 193 for five.

FULL SCORECARD: Third T20I – Australia (193/5) beat South Africa (96) by 97 runs

Australia’s openers powered their side into a good position as Warner and Aaron Finch put on 120 for the first wicket. Both players faced 37 balls, scoring 57 and 55 respectively.

Australia’s progress tailed off after the loss of the opening pair, before Smith hit a useful 30 from 15 balls towards the end of the innings to take them to their final total of 193 for five.

In reply, Mitchell Starc took two crucial wickets at the start of the innings as Quinton de Kock and Faf du Plessis both fell for just five runs each.

Heinrich Klaasen and Rassie van der Dussen hit 24 and 22 respectively before falling to the spin of Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa.

The rest of South Africa’s batting line up failed to make a mark, with David Miller and Dwaine Pretorius the only others to reach double figures as South Africa struggled to 96 all out in just 15.3 overs.

Starc and Agar picked up three wickets each, while Zampa ended the game with impressive figures of two for 10 from his three overs.