T20 World Cup result: Wiese powers Namibia past the Dutch

David Wiese produced a clutch innings for Namibia to help them secure a six wicket victory over the Netherlands that keeps them in the hunt for a Super 12s place.

Wiese plastered five sixes in an unbeaten 66 off 40 balls as Namibia overcame a mid-innings collapse to overhaul a target of 165 with six balls to spare.

The Dutch showed greater intent at the crease and looked on course for huge total when Stephan Myburgh and Max O’Dowd came together.

O’ Dowd scored his second consecutive fifty but it would once again be in a losing cause. The Netherlands are all but eliminated, knowing that if Sri Lanka beat Ireland they will have no chance of progressing to the Super 12s.

Having battled heat exhaustion throughout, O’ Dowd went on to make 70 off 56 balls, run out in the final over while pushing for a second run.

Zane Green got the innings rolling for Namibia with back-to-back fours off Colin Ackermann, bringing out the sweep and the reverse sweep and setting the tone for the Powerplay.

Getting to 41/1 in the Powerplay, Namibia kept pace with the Netherlands before spin halted the charge.

Fred Klaassen got the breakthrough for the Dutch when he got Green to chop on. Craig Williams and Stephan Baard followed him back to the changeroom and it looked like Namibia would implode.

The experience of Wiese came to the fore though and he and Gerhard Erasmus kept the pressure on the Dutch with their striking and shared a 93-run partnership that proved match-winning.

T20 World Cup scorecards – Namibia beat the Netherlands


M. O’Dowd run out (Erasmus/Wiese) 70

S. Myburgh c Baard b Frylinck 17

R. van der Merwe c Scholtz b Wiese 6

C. Ackermann c Erasmus b Frylinck 35

S. Edwards not out 21

L. van Beek not out 2

Extras: (b1, lb4, w8) 13

Total (4 wickets, 20 overs) 164

Did not bat: B. de Leede, R. ten Doeschate, P. Seelaar (capt), T. van der Gugten, F. Klaassen

Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Myburgh), 2-55 (Van der Merwe), 3-137 (Ackermann), 4-157 (O’Dowd)

Bowling: Scholtz 4-0-31-0 (w1), Wiese 4-0-32-1, Trumpelmann 4-0-32-0 (w2), Frylinck 4-0-36-2 (w2), Smit 4-0-28-0 (w2)


S. Baard b Seelaar 19

Z. Green b Klaassen 15

C. Williams b Ackermann 11

G. Erasmus c Edwards b van der Gugten 32

D. Wiese not out 66

J. Smit not out 14

Extras (b2, lb2, nb1, w4) 9

Total (4 wickets; 19 overs) 166

Did not bat: M. van Lingen, J. Frylinck, J.N. Loftie-Eaton, R. Trumpelmann, B. Scholtz

Fall of wickets: 1-34 (Green), 2-47 (Williams), 3-52 (Baard), 4-145 (Erasmus)

Bowling: Klaassen 4-0-14-1 (w1, 1nb), Ackermann 3-0-32-1 (w0, nb1), Van Beek 4-0-39-0 (w3), Van der Gugten 3-0-32-1,V an der Merwe 2-0-22-0, Seelaar 2-1-8-1, De Leede 1-0-15-0

Toss: Namibia

Result: Namibia won by six wickets

Umpires: Langton Rusere (ZIM), Michael Gough (ENG)

TV Umpire: Nitin Menon (IND)

Match Referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)