Amended schedule for full Australia men’s tour to Pakistan announced

Pakistan Australia

The Pakistan Cricket Board and Cricket Australia announced the revised itinerary of the 2022 tour of Pakistan for three Tests, three ODIs and one T20I.

The tour will now start and end in Rawalpindi.

The opening Test will be played from 4-8 March and the four white-ball matches to be played from 29 March to 5 April.

The change in the first Test venue means that the second Test will now be played in Karachi from 12-16 March and the third in Lahore from 21-25 March.

“We are pleased that the Cricket Australia Board has formally approved their side’s five-week tour itinerary and confirmed that their best available players will visit Pakistan for the first time in 24 years,” PCB Chief Executive Faisal Hasnain said.

“We are really excited to host Pat Cummins and his players, and look forward to a competitive series that will comprise three Tests, three ODIs and a T20I.

“While Australia will arrive at the back of strong performances in their home series against England, our team has been playing excellent cricket resulting in our players sweeping the ICC Awards. This braces for a keenly contested series, something that the fans will thoroughly enjoy and remember for a long time.”

Pakistan fast bowler Mohammad Hasnain ruled to have illegal action

The schedule has been revised to ease logistical and operational challenges as well as to avoid Pakistan Day rehearsals, which usually commence in Islamabad in the second week of March.

The two cricket boards have also agreed that the Australia Test side will complete their isolation in Australia before arriving in Islamabad on 27 February on a chartered flight.

After a one-day room isolation, Australia will be free to hold training sessions at the Pindi Cricket Stadium.

Australia’s white-ball players are expected to arrive in Lahore on 24 March following isolation in Australia. After a one-day isolation upon arrival, they will integrate with other members of the side and travel to Islamabad for the first ODI in Rawalpindi on 29 March.

The Tests will be part of the ICC World Test Championship, while the ODIs will count towards the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League from which the top eight sides, including hosts India, will qualify directly for the 2023 50-over World Cup.

Revised schedule:

27 February – Arrival in Islamabad

4-8 Mar – 1st Test, Rawalpindi

12-16 Mar – 2nd Test, Karachi

21-25 Mar – 3rd Test, Lahore

29 March – 1st ODI, Rawalpindi

31 March – 2nd ODI, Rawalpindi

2 April – 3rd ODI, Rawalpindi

5 April – one-off T20I, Rawalpindi

6 April – Departure