CSA names Proteas Test squad for India series

Test cricket
Duanne Olivier

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has announced a 21-man South Africa squad that will take on India in three Test matches from 26 December to 15 January 2022.

The India series will form part of the new cycle of the ICC World Test Championship and will be hosted in three venues namely SuperSport Park in Centurion, the Wanderers in Johannesburg and Newlands in Cape Town, respectively.

The national selection panel has gone with the same core group that successfully toured the West Indies in June of this year and have included three others.

Proteas fans will be pleased to see the return to action of household names such as Kagiso Rabada, Quinton de Kock and Anrich Nortje as well as the reintroduction of seamer Duanne Olivier, who has returned to the South African domestic set-up following a prolonged stint in the United Kingdom.

Olivier’s last Test appearance for South Africa was in Gqeberha against Sri Lanka in February of 2019.

The 29-year-old has made a loud return to the CSA four-day series, ending this year as the leading wicket-taker, eight scalps clear of number two, Simon Harmer.

Familiar faces return for Proteas, some new blood added

Olivier claimed 28 wickets in eight innings at an average of 11.14 and best innings bowling figures of 5/53.

Glenton Stuurman and Prenelan Subrayen have also received nods back into the team and Sisanda Magala and Ryan Rickelton will be pleased to receive their maiden Test team call-ups.

“We as the Selectors are excited for the return of Test cricket. This format is very important to CSA and keeping it relevant and alive is one of the organisation’s priorities,” CSA convenor of selectors, Victor Mpitsang said.

“We are really looking forward to the return of Dean Elgar and his men, it’s been a long few months since the last time we saw them dominate in the West Indies.

“We are confident in the team that we have selected and believe fully in backing the talent that we have unearthed and cultivated over the last couple of seasons and giving players the backing that they deserve when they have continuously done well over a significant period of time.

“This Test series is also important in terms of getting some points in the Test Championship table and we are confident that this group will pick up from where they left off and give us a good show on home soil.

“On behalf of the Selectors, I would like to wish Dean [Elgar], Mark Boucher and the team all of the best for the next few weeks of what I’m certain will be really entertaining cricket.”

South Africa’s Test squad vs India:

Dean Elgar (captain, Momentum Multiply Titans), Temba Bavuma (vice-captain, Imperial Lions), Quinton de Kock (wicket-keeper, Momentum Multiply Titans), Kagiso Rabada (Imperial Lions), Sarel Erwee (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Beuran Hendricks (Six Gun Grill Western Province), George Linde (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Keshav Maharaj (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Lungi Ngidi (Momentum Multiply Titans), Aiden Markram (Momentum Multiply Titans), Wiaan Mulder (Imperial Lions), Anrich Nortje (Gbets Warriors), Keegan Petersen (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Rassie van der Dussen (Imperial Lions), Kyle Verreynne (Six Gun Grill Western Province), Marco Jansen (Gbets Warriors), Glenton Stuurman (Gbets Warriors), Prenelan Subrayen (Hollywoodbets Dolphins), Sisanda Magala (Imperial Lions), Ryan Rickelton (Imperial Lions), Duanne Olivier (Imperial Lions).

Test Series schedule

26-30 December 21 | 1st WTC Test vs India | SuperSport Park, Centurion
03-07 January 22 | 2nd WTC Test vs India | Wanderers, Johannesburg
11-15 January 22 | 3rd WTC Test vs India | Newlands, Cape Town