Pakistan name 20-member squad for Test tour to Bangladesh

Pakistan have named their squad for the two-match Test series against Bangladesh, starting on 26 November 2021.

The 20-man squad features a return for opening batsmen Imam-ul-Haq.

Imam has been recalled on the back of a blistering form in the ongoing Quaid-E-Azam Trophy, where he has so far amassed 488 runs in five innings.

Middle-order batter Kamran Ghulam and off-spinner Bilal Asif also earn recalls to the Test group.

Bilal Asif has replaced leg-spinner Yasir Shah who is yet to fully recover from the thumb injury he suffered while playing in the National T20 Cup tournament.

Wahab Riaz plans to retire as Inzamam calls for new Pakistan caps

Kamran also returns to the squad after being left out for Pakistan’s tour of the West Indies. Fast bowlers Haris Rauf and Shahnawaz Dahani have been left out and will be allowed to travel back to Pakistan after the T20I leg of the tour.

With a star spinner absent this could be a huge series from Nauman Ali and Sajid Khan.

“We have selected the squad following discussions with the team management and after taking into consideration the opposition’s potential make-up and the conditions in which the Tests will be played.

“As we already have four frontline fast bowlers, we have allowed Haris Rauf and Shahnawaz Dahani to return to Pakistan after the T20Is so that they can play in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy and prepare for Australia Tests.

“An in-form left-handed Imam-Ul-Haq has replaced Imran Butt, who managed to score at 17.8 in 10 Test innings, but he has a chance to continue to play and perform in the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy so that he can force his way back in the side.

“Bangladesh are strong side in their backyard but we have the resources, talent and experience to perform strongly and then carry that momentum into the Australia Tests, which will be part of the ICC World Test Championship,” Chief Selector Muhammad Wasim said of the Pakistan squad.

The first Test will take place in Chittagong from November 26, with the second match taking place in Dhaka between December 4-8.

Pakistan Test squad

Babar Azam (captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Abdullah Shafique, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali, Bilal Asif, Faheem Ashraf, Fawad Alam, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Nauman Ali, Sajid Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Zahid Mahmood .