Ashes schedule and TV Time: When does the Boxing Day Test start?


The third Ashes Test between Australia and England is the traditional Boxing Day Test from the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

One of cricket’s most iconic venues, the MCG will be allowed to be close to capacity during the third Ashes Test which should guarantee an incredible atmosphere.

Follow the Ashes live!

England head into the match needing a win to retain any hope of regaining the Ashes on this trip.

Australia have been dominant and not even changes to their fast bowling line up have thrown them off their game.

The third Ashes Test at the MCG will get underway at 10:30 local time on Sunday 26 December.

What time does The Ashes start on UK TV?

Play will start at 23:30 (GMT) on Saturday 25 December with the toss scheduled to take place at 23:00 and the entire match will be broadcast on BT Sport in the UK.

The BBC will be send out a highlights each day at 17:00 on the iPlayer, while they also boast ‘digital in-play clips’ on their live coverage online.

Teams: Third Test – England vs Australia

Full Squads

Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith (vc), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

England: Joe Root (c), James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

The Ashes 2021 schedule

As is traditional, the Ashes will be contested over five Tests, with the Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests taking place at their customary venues in Melbourne and Sydney.

The second and fifth Tests will be day/night matches.

First Test
Australia won by nine wickets.
Date: 8th – 12th December 2021
Venue: The Gabba, Brisbane
Second Test
Australia won by 275 runs.
Date: 16th – 20th December 2021
Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
Third Test
Date: 26th – 30th December 2021
Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
Fourth Test
Date: 5th – 9th January 2022
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
Fifth Test
Date: 14th – 18th January 2022
Venue: Blundstone Arena, Hobart