Ashes schedule and TV Time: When does the Fifth Test in Hobart start?

Stuart Broad The Ashes

Australia and England are set for their final meeting of the 2021/22 Ashes series with a history-making Test in Hobart.

The last time Australia played a Test at the Blundstone Arena, they were ripped apart by a rampant South Africa pace attack and suffered a humiliating innings defeat.

England have never played a Test in Hobart which of course means this is the first time an Ashes Test will be played at the ground and indeed in the Island state of Tasmania.

Hobart sports playing conditions that are a little different from the rest of Australia as the Island has a distinct climate from the mainland.

Given that the Test will be also be played with a pink ball, this could give England’s bowlers a boost.

For the fifth Ashes Test, play will commence at 15:00 local time and the action is expected to finish at 22:00.

The start is an hour later than the start in the previous day/night Test in the series, taking into account that Hobart enjoys more daylight than Adelaide at this time of year.

What time does The Ashes start on UK TV?

Play will start at 04:00 (GMT) on Friday 14 January 2022 with the toss scheduled to take place at 03:30 and the entire match will be broadcast on BT Sport in the UK.

The BBC will be send out a highlights each day at 17:00 on the iPlayer, while they also boast ‘digital in-play clips’ on their live coverage online.

Teams: Fourth Test – England vs Australia

Full Squads
Australia: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith (vc), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

England: Joe Root (c), James Anderson, Jonathan Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Dawid Malan, Craig Overton, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Ben Stokes, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Sam Billings.

The Ashes 2021 schedule and results

As is traditional, the Ashes will be contested over five Tests, with the Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests taking place at their customary venues in Melbourne and Sydney.

The second and fifth Tests will be day/night matches.

First Test
Australia won by nine wickets.
Date: 8th – 12th December 2021
Venue: The Gabba, Brisbane
Second Test
Australia won by 275 runs.
Date: 16th – 20th December 2021
Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
Third Test
Australia won by an innings and 14 runs
Date: 26th – 30th December 2021
Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
Fourth Test
Match drawn
Date: 5th – 9th January 2022
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
Fifth Test
Date: 14th – 18th January 2022
Venue: Blundstone Arena, Hobart