Ashes schedule and TV times: When does day three of the first Test start?

The Ashes

The first Ashes Test appears to be well and truly in Australia’s hands and they will resume with a 196 run lead and Travis Head and Mitchell Starc at the wicket.

Head was in stunning form on day two blasting his way to a maiden Ashes ton, his third in all Test cricket.

Starc got a little lucky late on with Jos Buttler grassing a tough chance after Mark Wood induced an edge.

Joe Root won the toss on a cloudy opening day opting to bat only to see his England team shot out for 147 before tea. No play was possible after the second interval but Australia took charge of the game on day two, thanks to David Warner, Marnus Labuschagne and Head.

The first Ashes Test continues at the Gabba in Brisbane from 09:30 local time.

What time does The Ashes start on UK TV?

With overs lost on days one and two, play will start at 23:30 (GMT) on Thursday 9 December and will be broadcast on BT Sport.

The BBC will be sending out a highlights package each day at 17:00 on the iPlayer, while they will also be showing ‘digital in-play clips’ on their live coverage online.

Teams: First Test – England vs Australia

Australia: 1 David Warner, 2 Marcus Harris, 3 Marnus Labuschagne, 4 Steven Smith, 5 Travis Head, 6 Cameron Green, 7 Alex Carey (wk), 8 Pat Cummins (capt), 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Nathan Lyon, 11 Josh Hazlewood

England: 1 Rory Burns, 2 Haseeb Hameed, 3 Dawid Malan, 4 Joe Root (capt), 5 Ben Stokes, 6 Ollie Pope, 7 Jos Buttler (wk), 8 Chris Woakes, 9 Ollie Robinson, 10 Mark Wood, 11 Jack Leach

The Ashes 2021 schedule

As is traditional, the Ashes will be contested over five Tests, with the Boxing Day and New Year’s Tests taking place at their customary venues in Melbourne and Sydney.

The second Test will be a day/night affair from the Adelaide Oval while the fifth Test will be played at a venue yet to be announced after Perth was forced to give up its claim to the fixture.

It is likely that the Bellerive Oval in Hobart will be the venue chosen to stand in for the Optus Stadium.

First Test
Date: 8th – 12th December 2021
Venue: The Gabba, Brisbane
Second Test
Date: 16th – 20th December 2021
Venue: Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
Third Test
Date: 26th – 30th December 2021
Venue: Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
Fourth Test
Date: 5th – 9th January 2022
Venue: Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney
Fifth Test
Date: 14th – 18th January 2022
Venue: TBC