The Ashes: Usman Khawaja and Jhye Richardson recalled in Australia 15-man squad

Australia has announced a 15-man squad for the first two Ashes Tests – with Usman Khawaja’s strong domestic form forcing his recall.

The selectors revealed the 15-man group on Wednesday 17 November,

That selection panel – chair George Bailey, Tony Dodemaide and men’s team coach Justin Langer – have named their squad for the first two Ashes Tests, at the Gabba from December 8-12 and a pink-ball day-night Test at Adelaide Oval from December 16-20.

ICC appoints Working Group to review state of cricket in Afghanistan

“This group is well balanced to ensure we are prepared for the many challenges of an Ashes Series,” Bailey said today.

“It has a mix of experienced, proven performers and emerging, developing talent.

“We will take this 15-player squad into the opening Test in Brisbane and the pink ball match in Adelaide, after which we can reassess for the remaining matches.”

Khawaja returns for Australia

Khawaja’s last Ashes outing was in 2019, when he managed only a top score of 40 through the first three Tests before making way for Steve Smith’s return from injury at Old Trafford and The Oval.

The 34-year-old has been on form in the Sheffield Shield, with 404 runs across six innings in the domestic competition.

Bailey said Khawaja had been in “great touch”.


He added: “He brings a calm, consistent and experienced component to the batting line up and is a proven run scorer at Test level.

“He also has the ability to bat across a range of positions in the batting order.”

Tim Paine and Pat Cummins are captain and vice-captain respectively, while paceman Jhye Richardson is back in the squad.

The Ashes begin at the Gabba on December 8.

Australia Ashes Squad


Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins (vc), Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Additional Australia A players:

Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Henry Hunt, Josh Inglis, Nic Maddinson, Mitchell Marsh, Matt Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Bryce Street.

Ashes injury watch: Australia sweat on the fitness of several players