Black Caps look to stamp authority on tri-series

Top Story

For New Zealand’s Black Caps the triangular T20I series against Australia and England is an opportunity to upstage their oldest rivals in the game’s newest format.

The Black Caps have steadily built a highly competitive team in the format over the last few years with multi-format stars supplemented by specialists.

Colin Munro is among the best in the world at the format and deserves to be mentioned in the same breath as Chris Lynn.

If Munro continues in his current vein of form he will soon be right up there with the likes of Evin Lewis and perhaps over time Chris Gayle.

Kane Williamson is the quietest member of the top four but a man who has shown an incredible ability in a format dominated by big hitters.

Colin de Grandhomme is one of the most sought after talents on the T20 circuit, a smart seamer and devastating lower-order hitter who made his name in the IPL.

Trent Boult leads a bowling attack full of variety backed up by fellow quick Tim Southee and spinners Mitchell Santner and Ish Sodhi.

New Zealand have a team capable of competing against India away from home and at their best there are few who possess the ability to close out T20Is like the men from the land of the long white cloud.

Even without Mitchell McClenaghan, who opted for the money of the T20 domestic circuits over international duty, it is clear that New Zealand have an excellent unit capable of going toe-to-toe with England’s white ball power.

The Black Caps have struggled though when Munro has been absent or misfired so the other batsmen will need to ensure that they are at their best if they are to overcome the challenges of the triangular series.

It will be interesting to see how the Black Caps use their squad in this series with games being hosted in Australia and New Zealand at diverse venues.

Adapting to conditions on the fly will be key and the side who can do that should come out on top.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Anaru Kitchen, Colin Munro, Seth Rance, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Ben Wheeler