Kuldeep exposes Aussie middle order

Top Story

A brilliant debut performance from Kuldeep Yadav helped India peg Australia back to 300 all out after Steve Smith and David Warner had laid a good platform.

India would be made to face just one Josh Hazlewood over before stumps ending on 0/0 after the quick bowled a maiden.

Australia one the toss and chose to bat first but lost Matt Renshaw (1) early as Umesh Yadav set him up with some short stuff before producing a ball that was full and ducked in a touch to take the top of the left-hander’s off stump and leave the visitors 10/1.

Warner and Smith would then add 134 for the second wicket as the former hit his first fifty of the series before becoming Kuldeep’s fist victim.

Kuldeep got one to rear up on Warner (56) who edge it high on the bat to slip where Ajinkya Rahane pouched the catch.

Austalia would slip from 144 for 1 to 178 for 5 as Kuldeep accounted for Peter Handscomb (8) and Glenn Maxwell (8) after Shaun Marsh (4) was strangled down leg off the bowling of Umesh.

Smith would record his third century of the series becoming only the fifth man to achieve the feat and is only the second opposing skipper to smash three tons in India after Alastair Cook.

Ravichandran Ashwin would claim the prize wicket of Smith and the record for the most wickets in a season moving past Dale Steyn’s mark of 78.

Pat Cummins came in to bat with Matthew Wade and would hit 21 before he drove one straight back to Kuldeep to become the left-arm wrist spinners fourth wicket.

Substitute fielder Shreyar Iyer produced a smart piece of fielding to run out Steve O’Keefe (8)

Wade went to an incredibly valuable fifty before being bowled by Ravindra Jadeja for 57.

India delayed taking the new ball until the 89th over but it would take just three balls with the new seed to undo Nathan Lyon (13) who clipped a Bhuvneshwar Kumar inswinger to midwicket to end the Australian innings on 300.

Kuldeep ended with figures of 4 for 68.