Quicks boost Sri Lanka T20 squad

Sri Lanka can once again call on the services of two of their best quicks with Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep named in the squad for their T20I Tri-series against India and Bangladesh.

The pacemen have recovered from injuries that saw them sidelined during the trip to Bangladesh.

Providing back up to the two experienced pacemen will be the express Dushmantha Chameera and left-armer Isuru Udana.

Allrounders Angelo Mathews and Asela Gunaratne and seamer Shehan Madushanka are all absent through injury.

Legspinner Jeffery Vandersay has been dropped with only two specialist spinners named in the group in the shape of Akila Dananjaya and Amila Aponso but they will enjoy the support of spin bowling allrounders Dananjaya de Silva and Jeewan Mendis.

Wicketkeeper Niroshan Dickwella has also been axed with the gloves likely to be taken either by skipper Dinesh Chandimal or Upul Tharanga.

Kusal Perera has satisfied the selectors as to his fitness and he slots back into the side as well which will come as some relief to a team hampered by injuries.

T20 squad: Dinesh Chandimal (capt), Upul Tharanga, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Isuru Udana, Akila Dananjaya, Amila Aponso, Nuwan Pradeep, Dushmantha Chameera, Dananjaya de Silva