Second Test preview: NZ v BAN

Top Story

Bangladesh would have taken a lot of positives from how they played in Wellington but the downside of that clash was the injury to skipper Mushfiqur Rahim and the second innings collapse.

The Tigers proved though that they can go toe-to-toe with the Kiwi bowlers and can give as good as they get when it comes to the short stuff in the first Test.

The track should prove livelier than the Basin Reserve pitch where a green top disguised a docile pitch, which could mean we see less of the short stuff that generated so much media attention during the first Test after several balls clattered into helmets.

The shot balls will likely add a little extra edge to the Second Test where Bangladesh should come out determined to be a bit more ruthless having broken the record for the largest first innings total amassed by a losing team.

Sadly for Bangladesh they will be without Imrul Kayes, their skipper and Monimul Haque after both were injured in the first Test. Soumya Sarkar is expected to replace Kayes while Nurul Hasan should make his debut and take the wicketkeeping gloves.

New Zealand are likely to name an unchanged side having been given a real scare by the Tigers in the first match.

Key Men

New Zealand are led by Kane Williamson in more than just their tactical approach, a soft spoken man he leads by example and showed that at the Basin Reserve with a rapid hundred he will again be central to the Black Caps efforts.

With three top players missing much will be expected of Shakib-al-Hasan who made a double ton in the first Test, he will have to hold an inexperienced batting unit together and contribute with the ball.

Trent Boult might be feeling the pressure of having not taken a five for in over a year in Test cricket but he is still New Zealand’s top strike bowler.

Kamrul Islam Rabbi showed a lot of fire in the first Test and Bangladesh will need him to continue to keep the heat on the Black Caps.

Last Five Head-To-Head Results

2017 First Test: New Zealand won by 7 wickets in Wellington
2013 Second Test: Drawn in Dhaka
2013 First Test: Drawn in Chittagong
2010 One off Test: New Zealand won by 121 runs in Hamilton
2008 Second Test: Drawn in Dhaka


New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (c), Trent Boult, Dean Brownlie, Colin de Grandhomme, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Jeet Raval, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling (wk)

Bangladesh squad: Mushfiqur Rahim (capt & wk), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Mominul Haque, Sabbir Rahman, Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Nurul Hasan, Subashis Roy.


Dates: 20 to 24 January
Morning session: 11:00-13:00 (22:00-00:00 GMT -d)
Afternoon session: 13:40-15:40 (00:40-02:40 GMT)
Evening session: 16:00-18:00 (03:00-05:00 GMT)
On-field umpires: Paul Reiffel and Sundaram Ravi
Third umpire: Marais Erasmus
Match referee: Javagal Srinath