Ecclestone in England women’s Ashes squad

Women's Cricket

The 18-year-old Lancashire player Sophie Ecclestone has been included in the England women’s squad for the Ashes tour to Australia next month.

Ecclestone, a left-arm spinner, has played in two ODIs and two T20Is and replaces Beth Langston in the only change from the 15-member squad that won the World Cup on home soil this year.

Wicketkeeper Sarah Taylor will be going on her first tour with the national team since resuming her international career after taking a break from the game for more than a year because of mental health problems.

Coach Mark Robinson said: “It’s a hugely exciting tour and one we are really looking forward to. Australia on their home soil will be a further test of the progress we have made.

“We said before the World Cup that the final at Lord’s was never going to be our destination, it was just part of the journey, and that journey continues with this tour.

“Sophie Ecclestone has finished school now and has had a great summer domestically. Her selection will provide another option to our attack.”

Captain Heather Knight said: “Ashes tours don’t come around all too often so it’s always a special opportunity. Australia are going to be very strong opponents on their home soil so we’ll have to be at our best, across all three formats.

“Winning the World Cup was a dream come true but it doesn’t get much bigger than the Ashes. We weren’t able to win in 2015 so I know that the whole group will be intent on regaining the trophy this time round.”

England Women’s Ashes squad: Heather Knight (Captain), Tammy Beaumont, Katherine Brunt, Georgia Elwiss, Jenny Gunn, Alex Hartley, Sophie Ecclestone, Danielle Hazell, Laura Marsh, Natalie Sciver, Anya Shrubsole, Sarah Taylor, Fran Wilson, Lauren Winfield, Danielle Wyatt

Women’s Ashes itinerary


October 22 – first ODI, Brisbane

October 26 – second ODI, Coffs Harbour

October 29 – third ODI, Coffs Harbour

Only Test

November 9-12 – only Test, North Sydney Oval

Twenty20 internationals

November 17 – first T20, North Sydney Oval

November 19 – second T20, Canberra

November 21 – third T20, Canberra